Wrapping it up

Tomorrow will be my last day as editor of The Journal. Mixed feelings, as you can imagine.

I really loved being with the paper most of the time. Every day was different. I met so many wonderful people, learned so much and had some great experiences.

My all-time favorite part about being a journalist was writing feature stories. I interviewed some truly interesting and unique people.  I loved interviewing World War II veteran Anthony Dean. Anthony’s war experience included being a prisoner of war. I also wrote about Buddy Drake when to everyone’s dismay, he decided to close his store which had been at Drake’s Corner about as long as anyone can remember. Doyle Parrack’s story of his life as a basketball player and coach was another interesting one.

There are many more stories, too numerous to mention here. The one thing they all had in common was they surprised me in some way, and almost certainly, they taught me something, too.

There are some things I won’t miss about the weekly newspaper. Working on Mondays and Tuesdays can be a drag. I’ve always likened newspapers to having livestock – you’ve gotta care for them, whether it’s a holiday or not, even when you are sick or you have to drive to town in an ice storm. That’s certainly something I won’t miss. Neither will my family.

Anyway, below is part of my last personal column, which appeared in today’s issue of The Perkins Journal.

Well, this will be my last “Ain’t It The Truth” column. My last day as editor-in-chief of The Journal is this Friday, March 13.
Some of you will undoubtedly be celebrating this occasion, while a few others may miss this column. If you’re in that last group, you can still catch my blog, “Life Down Here in Oklahoma,” at https://cindysheets.wordpress.com. Please visit often and leave your comments.
I’ve been working on freelance writing, editing and photography for quite awhile, but finally decided to take the leap and devote more time to it. I’ll still be contributing a couple of articles a week to The Journal however, so I welcome any news tips or ideas. Please just send me an email at CopybyQuill@gmail.com or leave a message at (405) 742-8048.
I’d like to thank you all for letting me into your lives, if only in a very small way.
As I reflect on what it’s been like to be your weekly newspaper editor, I’ve been amazed at some of the things I’ve learned.
Early on, I was humbled to learn how much influence the written word has, and how important it is to step back and look at issues we cover.
I’ve learned it’s tough to drive down any of the highways in this area without remembering each and every accident I’ve covered, and exactly where it occurred.
That it’s important to document everything in the life of this town, even if that means sometimes having to write about something ugly.
I’ve learned we’re not isolated from drugs, crime, violence, bigotry, ignorance, or just plain unfairness.
On the other hand, I’ve learned a lot of the people who live right here truly want to make our world better. Some of those people run for public office, some volunteer at school and others give blood. Some people plant flowers, make quilts or take food to neighbors in need. Some donate money, time or supplies until the cows come home. Others exercise their right to vote, and still others just go to work every day to earn money for their families.
I’ve learned firefighters, police officers and emergency management folks will bend over backwards to help people they don’t even know. And most of them put their lives on the line every day for low wages or no pay at all.
I’ve learned school teachers are masters of innovation, making miracles from little resources.
The City of Perkins staff is another group that goes above and beyond in all kinds of emergencies. (And Rodger Anderson doesn’t like to have his picture taken.)
I’ve learned our veterans have amazing tales to tell and I’m really worried that we won’t hear all of them.
I’ve learned Perkins and Oklahoma have a great heritage and we should justifiably be very proud.
I’ll always remember and miss people like Mattie Lee Thompson, Gene Woody, Ditz McIlvain, and Rick Clark.
Some of the other things I’ve learned are little things, such as who makes the best homemade bread in these parts (Mary Silvers), who cuts the best t-bones (Wes Beane out at Ralph’s), that Sandy Marshall’s cookies are to die for, and that if you want to know just about anything about anyone around here (or their family, for that matter) ask David Sasser.
Bobby Fields and Harland Wells will give you the shirt off their back, if you’re in need. Richard and Janice Coate will help out with anything in a pinch. Laura and Ray Gann have one of the most beautiful gardens around. Kathleen Johnson makes a mean jar of jelly.… and the list goes on and on.
Perkins has the most interesting people – scholars and artists, cowboys and fishermen, mushroom farmers and Angus ranchers, oil patch folks, bakers, bankers, pilots.
And I’m proud to be part of it all. Thanks.

One response to “Wrapping it up

Leave a comment